We need more power

I got lucky and hunted down a matching power connector for the 20-pin Saturn drive. From now on all Rheas will be solder-less (unless you want to have 50/60 auto-selector, but that requires some soldering skills anyway) which should make it easier to install for less tech-savvy people.

Rhea v3.1

The PCB layout has changed a bit as well, the support peg holes have moved to allow 2 of them for both VA0 and later VA1+ machines. I might move them yet again in future as I feel current placing is actually less stable on VA0 but there are limits as to where I can put them without rerouting a lot of important stuff. In any case it’s nothing a glue gun couldn’t fix.

I have but a couple of these new PCBs right now, some more should be available soon.

EDIT: Oh, and I figure I should address the GDEMU situation. In short, everything is still massively delayed, sorry. It doesn’t help that people have stopped paying attention to their mail/PayPal and keep missing the payment deadlines, and I have to keep a bunch of GDEMUs in a box for a week before I can consider the request “timed out”. Yes, I know this is the result of the initial delay in the first place but stuff like this is what keeps the situation from improving.

112 thoughts on “We need more power

  1. Hi everyone, got the rhea easy install.
    I’m wondering how everyone is getting their images to work, most the images I have found for saturn are bin/cue , rarely I come across a mds/mdf which work without any problems, are you all able to mount the bin/cue with daemon tools and convert to cdi with discjuggler without any problems?I havent had any sucess with bin/cue.
    I thought I read somewhere that bin/cue looses something that cdi needs? any input is apreciated and or steps you are following to use bin/cue images.

    • The short answer is that some bin/cue images will work, whilst others will not. If you read the old post with the header ‘Saturn Rings’ (08/10/2014), that should explain it for you. There are problems with some versions of Daemon Tools (haven’t used it myself, but it is mentioned in another old post – check ‘The Snow Queen’ (12/1/2015)).

  2. hello ^^
    i have put 251 isos in a 128go sd card ^^
    i have test each game and for the moment,no pb except “irem arcade classics” in mds+mdf format…i have try to rename in “disc.mds + disc.mdf” but don’t work.
    thanks!

  3. the only two games doesn’t work is

    -lode runner extra
    -side pocket 2

    but i think the problem come from the isos files ^^

    • where are you getting the images from? what site? are you converting them? what settings and programs are you using, just need the name of the site, NOT the url.thanks

      • I would really appreciate the name as well. I have been having a hard time ripping my library to .cdi from my Mac (without any access to a PC) and I would much rather download backups than go through the hassle of installing a Windows partition…

    • Thanks for the name of the site marshalld12, most seem to be iso+ape images, how are you convertig them?, are you using daemon tools with discjuggler with advanced:scan gaps/indexes – r-w (cd+g) – pq – raw read.
      I have not been able to get a working cdi from isos that are iso+ape , iso+wav or iso+mp3 Ive noticed the cdi is very small like it only creates a cdi from the iso and does not include the sound tracks, the cue included cannot be mounted on daemontools, are you mounting the cue or the iso?

      • yes
        – with “monkey audio” i convert the ape files to wav
        – i mount the cue file with daemon tools
        – on discjuggler i convert to cdi with advanced : scan gaps/indexes – r-w (cd+g) – pq – raw read.

        all works very fine ^^

    • Kylon did you have any luck getting images from that site to work? if so could you please share the steps followed to getting them to work

    • Thanks for the site, I was finally able to mount the cue after decompressing the ape to wav, converted with discjuggler advanced:scan gaps/indexes – r-w (cd+g) – pq – raw read.
      The saturn recognizes the image as a music cd, I can play the music and its from the game but how can I get it to boot as a game?

  4. Thanks for the name of the site marshalld12, most seem to be iso+ape images, how are you convertig them?, are you using daemon tools with discjuggler with advanced:scan gaps/indexes – r-w (cd+g) – pq – raw read.
    I have not been able to get a working cdi from isos that are iso+ape , iso+wav or iso+mp3 Ive noticed the cdi is very small like it only creates a cdi from the iso and does not include the sound tracks, the cue included cannot be mounted on daemontools, are you mounting the cue or the iso?

    • it’s very strange…all the isos in this website works very very fine on my saturn…

      • I was finally able to mount the cue after decompressing the ape to wav, converted with discjuggler advanced:scan gaps/indexes – r-w (cd+g) – pq – raw read.
        The saturn recognizes the image as a music cd, I can play the music and its from the game but how can I get it to boot as a game?

      • maybe i’ve been downloading some bad rips, would you mind giving me the name of a game you downloaded from that site that worked when converted to cdi please?
        Thanks!

      • use deamon tools lite v4.49.1.0356
        i use it and working fine.
        mount image in deamon tools-open discjuggler and from there convert them
        i use the options you described in your post.
        if you have not originals,use trurip or darkwater releases.
        they are bin cue,but are fine.
        i cannot give you hints to find the images,because they could bring deunan and me maybe problems.
        search on the names i said,and you will find them.

  5. THANK YOU!! fille1976 daemon tools the latest lite version from their website IS the problem. I installed the version you recommended v4.49.1.0356 and it works great !

  6. you’re welcome sir.
    i hat that problem also,so decided to react here to solve your problem.
    also important is that you have good source,better use trurip or darkwater.
    there well know in the community.
    games that dont work,try first always other images from different places.
    if then not working,report to deunan so he can solve the problem.
    or ask here if people want to try that game to see if other people also have the same problem.

  7. I’m wondering if I missed the Paypal request, I thought I got in on the list fairly early?

  8. hello Deunan
    when is open new pre order for gdemu?
    i have 1 dreamcast and i want since so longtime 1 gdemu 🙂
    i hope can buy 1 soon
    best regards

Leave a Reply

