Gathering Data

Sorry everyone who ordered Phoebe, it’s taking more time than anticipated. I want to finish the blog page with the installation instructions first and there’s a lot of double-checking going on. For now I’m almost done with the Saturn details page, give it a read.

Now, as you see I’ve introduced a concept of “Saturn type” – this was necessary because the so-called model wasn’t telling people anything except what kind of case it is, and VA numbers seem to be too confusing (to me as well). I don’t intend or expect this type thing to become popular or anything, it’s just something you should figure out using the provided photos and report to me when ordering Phoebe. Nothing more.

Future Phoebe users should note that what I call Type-2 has the original flat cable twisted and later types do not. This is becuase SEGA (apparently) put the connector in rotated wrong at first, and then changed that on later motherboards. Since I had Type-2 as a test subject for Phoebe development I figured I’d fix that by making sure the cable goes straight now – except back then I didn’t realize that later model already have this fix by default. So what it ended as is this: When the Saturn has a twisted cable by default Phoebe uses a straight one, and when the Saturn has a straight cable then you need to twist it for Phoebe. Such a great fix, isn’t it.

Well, the first Phoebes will come with a spare cable so you can shape that one as you need, we’ll see how that works out and what to do next about it. I really don’t want to redesign the PCB as I’ve came up with a pretty clean routing and rotating the connector is going to mess everything. Personally, I blame SEGA.

The Type-2 comes in as Model 1 and Model 2, and the difference is important as the later Model 2 don’t have the CD LED, so the flat cable is wired in a bit different way. I’m still debating on whether to split it into 2A and 2B or not. I need that extra info but it’d be again confusing if I just made a whole extra type just for that small detail. Saying “Type-2, Model 1” works as well but then the whole type thing was to do away with models and VA numbers…

22 thoughts on “Gathering Data

    • Officially it didn’t happen yet but some people mailed me anyway after I posted about Phoebe. Rather than turn them all down I took the opportunity to make and ship the very first batch. As always it comes with a risk.

  1. Don’t worry for the delay and thank you for your hard work, can’t wait to get my hands on phoebe!

  2. The “type 2” machines have the ribbon cable wired the exact same in both oval and round model machines. They just did not install the resistor and led on the motherboards of round model units.

    So, you dodged that bullet.

  3. Nice guide! Although might I suggest that instead of Type 1, Type 2 etc, they are labelled Type A, Type B etc, so as to prevent any confusion with the Saturn model or motherboard VA numbers.

    • There is no current way for the device to communicate with the MB, so no menu. proof of concept was done, yet that’s it.

  4. Got a Rhea two days ago. It’s working really great. Is the AUX connector only for programming or are there any features on it for example a down Button.

  5. Hummm future use ? It’s somehow teasing :]
    By the way, gdemu, did you have some news from Neuroacid recently ?
    I know he was working on a Rhea menu, but our last contact was about 2 monthes ago.

  6. I currently have 2 Saturns I hope to replace the CD drive on one of them…. this with a RGB scart cable (gaming Bliss)

Leave a Reply

