Busy bee

Look guys (and gals?), the backup list is not infinite. I closed the preorders for a reason – there are only so many GDEMU units to be made in this run and that’s it. One person asks for my mail and a day later I get more than 20 late preorders. And this is in addition to the people already on the list.

I got a bit of a house remodeling going on right now, this will last up to 2 weeks. Thanks to that the cold I caught has gotten worse and now I’m pretty much ouf ot action. This week is probably not going to be very productive. Also, I’m not checking my gmail as often now.

So, with all that in mind, I’m going to change the payment and shipping rules a bit, at least for now. So far I’ve only send payment request when I had something to sell packed away in a box, or I knew it could be ready in few hours. This approach has a drawback I already explained – if people are late with answering (or worse, don’t answer at all), you all have to wait more for your turn. From nowΒ on I will issue more requests then I have units ready, this will allow for faster shipping at the risk of some of you having to wait up to a week or so between paying and shipping. If you’re unhappy with it I can always return the money instead, all you need is ask.

One last thing – I’ve been asked, again, to host or join a forum. I don’t do that. There’re a lot of people out there with good ideas (or what they think are good ideas) but zero knowledge and/or experience, coupled with even shorter temper than I have, not to mention poor communication skills. So basically it’s an explosive mixture, and the fireworks are fun but a waste of time. In other words, I could be spending time on forums, or I could be working on my projects. Take your pick.

21 thoughts on “Busy bee

  1. Here’s my pick: Get on to the Saturn and do something beautiful! πŸ˜‰ And this time make a pre-order list on which people only get when they pay up front so you don’t have to deal with idiots who waste your time.

  2. Work on your projects of course – I’m sure the majority of people would prefer that too lol!
    It must be difficult enough juggling work, current orders and new projects too – so I’m sure you wouldn’t like the distraction of forums etc on top of that.
    Like Phil – I look forward to your Saturn device no matter how long it takes – I’m just grateful there is still development for these old and well loved machines πŸ™‚

    Phil has however made an extremely valid point – serious buyers would be willing to pay up front, and if the payment side of things just gives you hassle then maybe think about that option for future endeavours πŸ™‚

  3. You should do what you like best. If that’s flaming on a forum, do that. If it’s working on gdemu, cdemu or whatever project do that. If it’s something else, do that. Life is too short πŸ™‚

  4. I certainly understand where you’re coming from, you never really thought that the GDEMU thing was more than just a hobbyist thing for you, when in fact it’s probably (I’d venture to say definitely) commercially viable.

    I appreciate that you want to do the work yourself since you want each board to be right, and it really is YOUR thing. I can also tell it’s a quality product, from all the stuff I’ve read and the demand. I would definitely be willing to pay up-front even if I had to wait a couple months for one of these boards, and I think anyone with sense would as well.

  5. Is GDEmu the PCB marked for the LEDs? I forgot to request one of the external button thingies and will be attempting to make my own once my GDEmu arrives in the mail.

  6. I’ll keep my fingers crossed the order list opens up again, as I’d definitely be buying one if it does. That aside, glad to see the Dreamcast is being kept alive and congrats to those who are lucky enough to have one.

  7. Hey Mr. Deunan, my wishes for a forum were to gather GDEMU owners together, so they could chat and support each other, and not at all having a support line with you. Of course it can be done in any other forum, but if it will not bring enough people unless it’s “official”.

    Anyway, I understand you position, a forum would definitely take time that you could be using in other projects. Please keep doing what you enjoy the most πŸ™‚

  8. I guess I missed the boat on ever getting one of these. Bit of a shame. Great work on designing and building this, though! It’s always an inspiration to see someone passionate enough to follow through with ideas like these.

  9. Man, just watched Adam Koraliks video on youtube. I want one! Here is one person wishing you would do another run πŸ˜‰

  10. I’m in for a unit whenever the next open slot comes around.
    I can’t tell you how long I myself (and the DC community) has been waiting for something like this.
    You have done a wonderful thing. Thank you.

  11. IDK if you remember me but we had the pleasure of chatting back before GDemu came to life… Great project and happy it is a success… I hope you get to feeling better and I understand this is just a hobby and not a job. But please consider commercial release or maybe 2 runs a year? I know of at least 30 people in person that are interested in your project and even prefer your design over USB Gdrom.

    I know if you do another run next year im keeping some of my Tax money to make sure I can order one…

Comments are closed.